Scuba Diving Center

CMAS History

On the 28th of September 1958, delegates from the following Federations: Federal Republic of Germany, Belgium, Brazil, France, Greece, Italy, Monaco, Portugal, Switzerland, the United States of America and Yugoslavia met in Brussels on the occasion of the congress of the independent International Confederation gathering all underwater disciplines.

Luigi Ferraro & Jacques-Yves Cousteau at the plenary meeting in which the CMAS was founded.

With this aim, a plenary meeting presided by Captain Jacques-Yves Cousteau was held in Monaco on January 9th, 10th and 11th, 1959 and a decision to establish the “World Confederation of Underwater Activities” in brief “CMAS” (the acronym of its French title Confédération Mondiale des Activités Subaquatique), was taken.

CMAS - World Underwater Federation

This Confederation succeeded, specifically in regard to all functions and responsibilities, the “Comité des Sports Sous-Marins” (Underwater Sports Committee) of the International Confederation of Sport Fishing founded on the 22nd of February 1952.

With this background CMAS is the world’s oldest and most extensive diver training organization and is recognised worldwide as the number one and first Scuba Diving certifying international agency and by now it comprises over 130federations from 5 continents. In addition to organizing international underwater sport events it is at the forefront of technical and scientific research and development.It can be associated with elaborating one of the oldest and most extensive dive training systems.The Olympic Movement

Furthermore, the CMAS is the only Diving Certification Agency that is part of the Olympic Movement as one of the International Sports Federations (IFs) that integrate its governance thus all the Underwater Sports are recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) only through CMAS.

CMAS also is recognized by:


Sport Accord

The World GamesCollaborative worldwide campaign for doping-free sport